Francis J. “Frank” Golden | 1950-2011

ELKO, Nevada — Francis J. “Frank” Golden died suddenly of heart complications on April 5, 2011.

There were four friends back in ’06 who were really influential in getting me started on my GNU/Linux Adventure. Sweet Lou, X-Admin from the Avant Browser Support Forums was pushing me toward Debian (Sarge at the time). Friend Urmas from my own Cabin In the Woods board was plugging Ubuntu. Frank Golden, whom I knew from Computer Haven, was voting for Ubuntu also; as was Angeldust (Philip), another Avant Browser team member.

3 votes to 1… Ubuntu won that one. I installed it and within a couple weeks also installed Debian, Slackware, OpenSuse, and Fedora Core. I was on a mission to find “my” distro; the one that just fit. I ended up with Slackware, as you all know. The rest is history. I had a lot of help along the way from many folks. This is one of the reasons I make it my own mission to return some of that to the upcoming Linux Adventurers.

One of the folks who was always there when I had a question was Frank Golden. Frank was fast in offering his home phone number and an invitation to have a chat. He sent parts for me to get my laptop up and running. He offered advice whenever I had an issue or a thought or whatever. Frank was there. Unfortunately, that will no longer be the case. Frank is gone now. I will miss him.

Frank was my friend.

~Eric


7 Comments on “Francis J. “Frank” Golden | 1950-2011”

  1. Yes, Frank will be greatly missed by all who knew him, especially those Linux users who benefited from his help either directly or through help he gave others.

    He truly was a true technician, Linux Advocate, Troubleshooter extraordinaire as well as just a wonderful caring guy who loved his granddaughters very much.

    We will miss you deeply Frank Golden.

    My condolences to your family, particularly your granddaughters.

  2. I would like to leave some links here to other places where friends have been posting their thoughts and condolences:

    At Scot’s –> http://forums.scotsnewsletter.com/index.php?showtopic=45105

    At my Out of the Woods –> http://vtel.jaylach.com/viewtopic.php?f=50&t=4714

    At my Cabin In the Woods –> http://ourboard2004.proboards.com/index.cgi?board=loved&action=display&thread=10385

    Thank you for reading.

  3. ebrke says:

    Oh dear, I haven’t been to BATL in several weeks and just heard the sad news here. I’m so sorry–didn’t know him like you did, but he seemed like a very kind and knowledgeable man over the years.

  4. Marie Smith says:

    To all of Frank’s friends. It is so heart warming to read all the kind words from you all. I miss him greatly. He spoke often and highly of you Eric and about his many friends online. His vast knowledge of computers was amazing for being self taught. He would tell me that he had been up all night, trying to load a new operating system, it may have taken two or three crashes, but he would finally succeed. Thank goodness for backups!!! I have forwarded this link to the rest of our family, I’m sure they will be a moved as I am. Again thank you all. Marie Smith his sister in Elko NV.

    • Ms. Smith,

      Thank you so much for replying. I sent a card to Frank’s home in Elko the other day, but wasn’t sure if anyone would get it. It’s always sad to find that you’ve lost another friend. Frank was indeed special to many of us who knew him online and via phone conversations. He will be missed, I assure you. Thank you for passing along this link to other family members. He was very proud of his son and DEARLY LOVED his granddaughters.

      Sincerely yours,

      ~Eric

  5. Mindy says:

    Thank you for all your kind words about my father. It was very moving to read everything that was posted. It is so nice to know that he helped so many of you with his knowledge about computers and that he had some friends that will miss him as much as we do. He truly was a remarkable man. My girls will be glad to know how much he loved them.
    Mindy Dyer, daughter in Maine

    • Hi Mindy.

      Thank you for coming here and commenting. As long as I have access/control of this site and my Cabin In the Woods site, Frank’s memorials will stay here. Also, if I was confused and misspoke on who’s who regarding sons, daughters, granddaughters, the error was entirely my own and I apologize. Bottom line is that Frank loved ALL of you. Don’t ever forget that.

      My father and mother are both gone from this place. My father told me once that no one is really gone till the last person who remembers them is gone also. Frank’s online friends will remember him for a long time, as I know you will also.

      Sincerest regards,

      ~Eric


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 40 other followers