Jack Wallen Likes Gnome 3 (Revisited)

Jack Wallen Likes Gnome 3

Posted by on Apr 5, 2010

I’m not so sure I do.

I ain’t no young whipper-snapper geek here, kids. Us older folks don’t like change. Wallen thinks we need to be getting away from the Win 95 taskbar/icons/Start button paradigm. I don’t. Old farts like me have a saying… “If it ain’t broke, don’t fix it.” Wallen contends that the model is broken, though.

Oh of course there will be those that say, “If it isn’t broke…” Well, I am one of those who will first claim that it is, in fact, “broke.” The current desktop that most everyone uses is klunky, kludgy, and ugly. It’s a task bar, and menus, and icons, and blah blah blah…

For the entire article at Tech Republic –> clicky.

Klunky? Kludgy? C’mon… how can anyone say that about my beautiful Slack/Xfce desktop?

Aieee! KDE 3.5 wasn’t broke either. Now KDE 4 is borked <– play on spelling. Cute, huh?Photobucket

Hey! There’s no Gnome Menu on the panel. There aren’t any app icons on the panel. I can’t find my Nautilus. ARRRRRGH! It  looks like a friggin’ iPad. Oh my! I guess this old geek is just going to have to get used to all this new-fangled progress stuff.

Ah… whatever happened to the good old days of Slackware 9.0 with Lynx in the CLI?

I’m outta’ here…

~Eric

=====

This article was originally published on my Nocturnal Slacker | Lockergnome blog. You can click HERE to see it there and read the accompanying comments.

3 Comments on “Jack Wallen Likes Gnome 3 (Revisited)”

  1. Kabamaru Iga-no says:

    What file manager do you use? I’m also an xfce slacker, but I never quite liked thunar; No tabs (but that’s ok I guess), the filenames text are aligned right and look ugly, long filenames aren’t wrapped and look awful, and thunar cannot tell the difference between a file and a folder that share the same name and are in the same directory (if you try to touch/cp/mv file “abc” alongside folder named “abc”, both under directory “X”, thunar asks you if you want to overwrite the “old” one with the “new” one).

  2. Kabamaru Iga-no says:

    oops… I meant aligned “left” :-)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers