Browsers… a Wee Bit Off the Beaten Path

Tired of those mainstream browsers like Firefox and Chrome in Linux? You have other options, folks.

I’m going to briefly talk about a couple of my favorite options here today. Let’s get started, shall we?

Opera Browser

From a Wikipedia article about Opera’s history:

The history of the Opera web browser began in 1994 when it was started as a research project at Telenor, the largest Norwegian telecommunications company. In 1995…

I’ve had Opera on my systems for a dozen years. I used it in Windows 98SE and XP. I’ve used it in Slackware, Debian, Arch, etc. for the past 6 years or so. Granted, it is installed as a secondary browser because Firefox is actually my primary browser. That being said, though, Opera is by no means to be thought of as inferior to Firefox. Opera has always been a high quality application from a dedicated company. The browser has many modern features. Some of its original ideas were “borrowed” for other browsers like IE and FF over the years. Opera has been an innovator in the browser field.

Opera has a lot of features that make browsing the Internet a joy. It’s stable, safe, and very secure. For much more information, check out Opera Browser’s website. Download it. Give it a test drive. You might like it a lot. It never hurts to have it on your system as a backup browser.

Seamonkey

What exactly is a sea monkey? Well, I dunno. However, I do know what a Seamonkey is. It’s my favorite backup browser on any operating system. A few eons ago, there was a browser known as Netscape Navigator. It ruled the Internet. There were no competitors in sight back then. Nothing is king of the hill forever, though. Along came a browser called Internet Explorer from a company called Microsoft, and Netscape’s days were numbered. That’s all ancient Internet history, though. Today, were here to learn a bit about a direct descendent of the Netscape Navigator browser. It’s called Seamonkey.

For someone like me, who uses Mozilla’s Firefox browser as my primary means to navigate the World Wide Web, Seamonkey is like an old and comfortable pair of shoes. FF and Seamonkey are cousins, you might say. Hence, they have a certain resemblance. If you like to customize your browsers like I do, you’ll find that Seamonkey is almost as customizable as Firefox. Many of your favorite FF extensions also work on Seamonkey. It’s also stable and renders webpages very well; using the same Gecko engine that FF uses.

One added feature that I love is Composer. It’s a full-featured WYSIWYG editor and webpage publisher application. Back in my Windoze daze, I used an app called MS Publisher to create custom HTML pages for different purposes. Nowadays, I use Composer. It’s a fabulous app, and comes free right along with the Seamonkey browser. For those of you using Linux who remember or have used KompoZer or Nvu before that, you’ll love Composer. It will look very familiar to you.

Give Seamonkey a try. I bet you’ll keep it on your system just for Composer, if for no other reason. However, even without Composer, it’s a fabulous little browser… fast, stable, easy on resources.

Have fun!

~Eric

Image credits: Opera logo owned by Opera Software. Seamonkey logo owned by Mozilla Foundation.

11 Comments on “Browsers… a Wee Bit Off the Beaten Path”

  1. Oh, yeah! Lots of great browsers out there. I have most all of them installed. Depending on the OS of course.

    No Internet Exploder, errr, Internet Explorer in Linux or on the Mac. No Safari in Linux and I elected not to install Safari in Windows. And of course I have Opera, Firefox and Chrome in Windows, Mac and Linux! Sea Monkey in Windows only currently.

    I love to use a passel of browsers!

  2. Ferdinand Thommes says:

    unfortunately, debian dropped seamonkey before i could try it.

  3. Kabamaru Iga-no says:

    Seamonkey is a great internet suite. It bundles a web browser, e-mail client, web composer, irc-client (haven’t tried that yet), address-book. You would expect it to be slower to launch than firefox, but it’s not. When I open the seamonkey browser, it also checks for my e-mail, and if there are new messages you hit the a button to launch the e-mail client. It’s also kept the sane interface that firefox versions previous to 4 had and it even has a nice download manager built-in, at least nicer than firefox’s and chrome’s :-)

    I haven’t tried opera yet, mostly because its logo. It looks like a red zero, or the eye of Sauron http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sauron#Eye_of_Sauron

    • *smacking self* I can’t believe I forget to mention Seamonkey’s email client, etc. It’s not just a browser, folks. Thanks for the reminder, Kabamaru Iga-no. “Eye of Sauron”… heh! I never looked at it that way, UNTIL NOW! ;)

  4. darkduck says:

    Midori? Konqueror? Rekonq? ;-)

  5. Ferdinand Thommes says:

    You are right, i forgot the stupid Moz-Debian Branding-Wars :)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 37 other followers