What’s So Bad About MS Windows? (Revisited)

A little musing on the perceived competitiveness between commercial and non-commercial operating systems by a user of both types.

Just a few moments ago on a forum that I frequent, a comment was made by a poster whom I have interacted with for quite some time and have much respect for; someone I would definitely call “friend”. This individual was replying to a comment I had made on a thread discussing MS Windows and Linux “us and them” mentality. The thread was initiated by a posting of a blog article called Linux users are hate filled criminal hackers by Locutus on it.toolbox.com.

Closing remarks from the Locutus’ article:

Do you think Linux advocates are really thought of like this by windows advocates? Why would they think this way? Do we project that image in our enthusiasm for Linux? Do we really hate windows that much?

His article is actually a reply itself to an anonymous commenter who had some rather unfriendly things to say about Linux users.

A snippet of the anonymous commenter’s post:

It always grates me when the discussion gets down to how rotten Windows is because of all the viruses etc. when it seems obvious, at least to Windows users, that most of that crap is written by Linux devotees. It seems hard to deny how obvious that is and a great part of the reason that Linux doesn’t suffer from it is because these guys are not going to ‘shit in their own back yard’.

Wow! With the tapping of a few keys, myself and the entire Linux community is suddenly stuffed into the same pigeon hole with the pimply-faced thirteen year old kid who just spent 11 days with no sleep so he could manipulate his botnet to attack the Girl Scout’s website because his chocolate mints arrived three weeks late.

Umm… cookies! Er, but I digress…

I commented on the thread discussing Locutus’ blog post, which had entered the typical MS Windows vs. Linux why and wherefore stage, by stating:

I have a system out in my shop right now that belongs to a friend who asked me to dual-boot Win/Ubuntu for him. He’s tired of Windows. He wants to try Linux. My list of converts is growing.

And yes, I do convert people to Linux. I don’t run around evangelizing on street corners or send SPAM emails about it. Usually, the folks come to me. They’re frustrated and tired of poor performance or corrupted system issues with their MS Windows and they’re looking for respite. I offer them some… in the form of Linux.

Is MS Windows bad? Is it an inferior product? No. I don’t think that on either count. Microsoft has created and marketed an operating system that is the primary operating system for personal (and many business) users the world over. Does it have some security issues? Yes. Is it perfect? Absolutely not. Is Linux perfect? Hell no. In my opinion, though, and for my needs, Linux performs the job better than MS Windows. That’s a personal choice.

There seems to be this underlying user angst (fan loyalty?) out there when it comes to operating systems. As I explained to my friend on the forum, I don’t care what you use for an operating system any more then I care whether you like Ford or Chevy automobiles. If MS Windows works for you, more power to you. If Mac is the apple of your eye, so be it. The perceived competition between commercial operating systems (MS Windows) and the non-commercial ones (Linux) is just silly to me. Linux supposedly controls 1% of the personal PC market right now. Ooooh! I bet MS is shakin’ in their Skechers®

I’ve said this before… use whatever works for you. Life is too damned short to be worried about what operating system weird uncle Bob uses when designing his tinfoil hats.

Have FUN… whatever you do!

~Eric

Note: This article originally appeared on my Nocturnal Slacker/Lockergnome blog (now defunct).


2 Comments on “What’s So Bad About MS Windows? (Revisited)”

  1. Reblogged this on anthonyvenable110 and commented:
    This is great!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 43 other followers