Happy Spring (Northern Hemisphere)!

Yes, it’s been a while since I posted here. I’ve been busy.

I just wanted to stop by for a moment on this beautiful spring day here in Florida, USA to say hello and let all my faithful readers know that I am still breathing. You may remember that I was going to be distracted from writing by my intense study schedule initiated for the purpose of gaining some industry certifications (Cisco, CompTIA, etc.).

Well, the initial study paid off. I’m now Cisco certified (CCENT) with another examination coming in the next few weeks (ICND2/CCNA), so the studies continue. I’m learning all that fun networking stuff about switches, routers, spanning tree protocol, VLANs, etc. FUN! 🙂

Once the Cisco certs are attained, I’ll be brushing up on networking, hardware, and my Linux fundamentals in order to grab the CompTIA Network+, A+, and Linux+ certs. I may, depending on how I feel by then, also pursue a Cisco Security endorsement and a CompTIA Security+.

All this is for my own personal satisfaction, but also to ease me into a new career in networking. I have a hardware and electronics background already, but the jobs are definitely in IT; networking/security, in particular. I’m hoping to break into this sometime very soon.

Wish me luck!

~Eric


8 Comments on “Happy Spring (Northern Hemisphere)!”

  1. Mechatotoro says:

    Congratulations, Eric! So now you got the CCENT and I am sure you’ll get the others.
    Best of luck!

  2. kabamaru says:

    Nocturnal Slacker v1.1 🙂 Well done, and good luck with the rest of the certificates!

  3. Barnaby says:

    Glad it’s going well for you and life is looking up again after a couple of meagre years. All the best with the other certs, you deserve it.
    My rationale is that you can’t beat education. Savings may disappear due to inflation and whatnot but if you’ve invested in obtaining qualifications nobody can take that away from you.

    Good luck and until later,
    Barnaby


Leave a comment