Playing w/ My Conky

Some friends over at Scot’s Newsletter Forums – Bruno’s All Things Linux got me started playing with Conky the other night.

I used to be a Gkrellm fan until transparency failed to display properly a while back. I didn’t feel like messing around with feh and lib workarounds, so I just quit using it. Sad. It was a wonderful system monitor app, too.

The pastΒ  couple days, I’ve wasted hours of my life tweaking and experimenting with Conky config codes and colors. Yes, it is addictive. I was warned. Here are some of the results of my descent into Conky tweaking oblivion:

I haven’t even scratched the surface of what can be done with this neat little app. It was fun, though, but I really need to go back to studying now. You folks can have fun with your Conky, too. Just go to SourceForge and read all about it. Oh, for you Slackers, there is a SlackBuild for Conky. πŸ™‚

Well, I’m off to go stick my nose back in this baby for a while:

Later…

~Eric

Addenda I: I just had to make a blue version of that dragon. πŸ˜‰


11 Comments on “Playing w/ My Conky”

  1. kabamaru says:

    Nice… I made a few simple configs myself in my Arch/Openbox days. There are some insane configs out there but it is more rewarding to do your own thing.

    P.S. KDE4? What happened to you? πŸ™‚

    • AHA! You noticed, huh? Well, a couple weeks ago some Slack updates trashed my main system (probably more my fault than Slack’s). At that time, I also found out that my rsync backup was corrupted. Oopsy! No big deal. It only takes me about an hour to do a complete install and setup with Slack these days, so I reinstalled.

      I’d been threatening to try out KDE again. I haven’t used it since 3.5. I LOVED KDE until 4.x came out; it was just so buggy that it was unusable on my systems. I went to Xfce primarily, as you know. Flash forward to the other day’s installation… I decided to go with KDE and see how things had improved since those early 4.x versions. I was pleasantly surprised to find that most of the issues have been resolved. I’m rekindling my love affair with KDE now.

      Don’t be jealous, Xfce. You’re still on my system; including all my Xfce setup and custom configs. Whether KDE is just a passing phase or a long term thing, Xfce will always remain near and dear to my heart… and always be present on my systems somewhere. My shop and both my laptop systems are still using Xfce. πŸ™‚

      That’s my story… and I’m sticking to it. πŸ˜‰

      Later…

      ~Eric

  2. Josh Sabboth says:

    Looks great Eric!!

  3. Mechatotoro says:

    Hi, Erick. I read your entry yesterday, but couldn’t comment… I guess I was busy trying to close my open jaw after seeing your Conky config. That looks awesome!

    Those are pretty Interesting points about KDE in the comments. My full migration to Linux converged with the movement from KDE 3.5 to 4, so I used the former for less than six months. Used to working with a machine that was slow and prone to crashing to the point of desperation (pestered by all possible malware), I felt it was soaring with KDE 4, bugs and all. In short, since my migration, I have always been a KDE user. It is until now that I am flirting with other DEs.

    Regards and have a good time with your reading!

    • Hola, mi amigo!

      Actually, I started out using Gnome many years ago in Ubuntu and Debian, but when I went to Slackware full-time, it was KDE because there was no native Gnome for Slackware. When KDE first went to v4.x, though, it was really buggy and a resource hog on my system at that time. I was very disappointed. For quite a while now, as many know, I’ve been using nothing but Xfce. I’m glad KDE seems to have worked out most of the bugs with their 4.x. I’m running the native 4.8.5 in Slackware 14 right now. I’m liking it a lot. πŸ™‚

      Thanks for stopping by and commenting. I’ve been so busy with the studying that I haven’t had the chance to write much here or to visit friends’ sites, such as yours. I’ll catch up with you soon.

      Te veo…

      ~Eric

  4. sakax says:

    pls share your conky configuration? thanks πŸ˜€

  5. Barnabyh says:

    Nice one, Eric. Try the Crunchbang conky thread on their forum for suggestions and tips, it is massive.
    Back to studying for me too. Good luck, until later>

    Barnaby

    • Yup. I hear that’s a helluva Conky thread over there.

      My studies seem to have been largely superseded by an outbreak of Spring Fever. I just can’t seem to sit here at this desk with those books open in front of me when the beautiful spring day is going by outside.

      Speaking of that, I think I’ll shut this annoying box off and go for a nice 10 or 15 mile bike ride.

      Later…

  6. Barnabyh says:

    Yeah, pretty difficult to discipline yourself with that nice weather outside. Lucky for me we only had two days of good weather. It’s pouring down again and getting colder next few days, so I won’t be getting distracted ;).

    I’ld love a good bike ride like that now…

    Have a look at coursera.org, they offer an introductory course to Python programming, and one on Software defined networking is due to start on 27 May for six weeks. It’s free, and you can probably manage a few hours a week.

    • No time for Python right now. Busy with job hunt and certs. If I was going to learn any programming language, though, it would be C+, C++. πŸ™‚

      Just got back from that bike ride… 16 miles, HOT and sunny! πŸ™‚


Leave a comment