HeliOS – Ken Starks Posts Sad Missive

***REPUBLISHED 16 March 2012 @ 1805hrs EDT***

A couple days ago, Ken Starks of the Austin, TX HeliOS Project posted a sad missive on his Blog of HeliOS.

Saturday, March 03, 2012

A quiet communication went public

As often happens with people that possess less than sure Internet Skills, a posting was made publicly that was meant for far fewer eyes. Sometimes it can be funny, sometimes it can end a marriage.  Other times it makes news readily availability before people were physically ready to receive it.

For those of you in the GNU/Linux community who know or have heard of Ken, you really need to read his posting in its entirety.

We’ll be thinking about you and your family, Ken. Our mutual friend and mentor, Bruno Knaapen, was proud of your achievements. It’s difficult to type these words, but if the inevitable that overtakes us all one day should overtake you any time soon, know that your contributions, assistance, and passion will not soon be forgotten by those of us who have had the privilege to know you.

Give ’em hell, brother!

~Eric

Additional information:

An Interview with Ken Starks by Larry the Free Software Guy

Is This Thing On? – A heartfelt plea from Diane regarding Ken

Diane says:

I know I am going to receive a ton of wrath from this but his pride is outweighing his needs and I don’t believe in miracles like he does.

I have a paypal account set up via the email dianekfranklin@hotmail.com.  I hope none of you think badly of me for doing this.  Thank you for helping me take care of Ken.  I don’t know how to really spread the word so if you would help me do so I would appreciate it.

Please help, if you can.


2 Comments on “HeliOS – Ken Starks Posts Sad Missive”

  1. comhack says:

    Sad news indeed. I hope everything ends up ok. That is the nice thing about technology, people can survive various cancers now. I had an uncle who had throat cancer and he went through a lot but was fine in the end.


Leave a comment