On the state of Windows on the desktop – A Reblog

This is a reblog of a hilarious (and true) article from Branko’s Thought Dump.

On the state of Windows on the desktop

I have this Linux system on my PC which has become a bit boring (no, it’s not crashed or anything… I just got a bit bored), so I decided to replace it with Windows 7 (some friends told me to not even try Windows 8 because it has an advanced interface nobody was able to figure out yet).

I really did not set the bar too high: I just hoped to have a nice user-friendly interface and recover the email I have in Maildir, and maybe watch my video collection on an external hard drive. You know, the usual stuff I do on Linux every day.

Please note that this article is a parody of what some Windows users write about Linux. The events described here have not actually taken place. However, the article is based on author’s experiences with the Windows 7 operating system.

I didn’t want to commit and install a new operating system right off the bat. I just wanted to try it first. So I typed “Windows Live” in my browser’s search box to find a live version, preferably an USB image. Ok, so Windows Live wasn’t a live version of windows but some kind of service you must sign into. I guess it’s something like Ubuntu One. Not sure. Moreover, it turned out I’d have to actually buy it first before I could do anything with it. And there is not real live version of Windows 7.

Read the rest of this entertaining article HERE.

*Special thanks to pal SecurityBreach/Comhack for posting this at Scot’s Newsletter Forums this morning. It will be my Laugh of the Day for today, for sure!

Later…

~Eric

P.S. Certification studies going well. 🙂


3 Comments on “On the state of Windows on the desktop – A Reblog”

  1. comhack says:

    Thanks Eric, I knew you would like that one!! 🙂

  2. Mechatotoro says:

    Thanks for sharing, Eric. I had a good laugh with it.
    Best of luck in your studies. I’m cheering for you here in Central America.

    • Muchas gracias, mi amigo!

      I can use all the cheering I can get. I’m trying to digest 8 months’ worth of classroom studies in about 20 four hour sessions + MUCH home study time (about 6-8 hours a day). It’s a bit much, but I’m keeping my head above water for the moment. The proof of all this will be when I pass that certification exam in a few weeks. 🙂

      Te veo,

      ~Eric


Leave a comment